The Australian Curriculum is implemented and reported on in English, Mathematics, Science, The Arts, Health and PE, Digital Technologies and Design, Humanities and Social Science (HASS) and languages (Spanish). Science, Spanish and Arts are R-6 Specialist subjects.

Reporting procedures include parent/teacher/student discussions at the end of Term 1 and during Term 3 (optional) and written reports twice a year.

ICT is integrated across the curriculum at all year levels with Interactive White Boards (Smartboards) and TV’s installed in all classrooms. Students have access to classroom computers and ipads as well as a computer suite. Tablets are utilised by our Year 5 and 6 students.

Special programs include Instrumental Music, Band, Choir, SAPSASA Sport, Environmental Education (including YET – the Youth Environment Team).

Our NAPLAN results can be seen on the My School website.

School Facilities

Waikerie Primary School has some excellent facilities which staff and students can utilise to best meet the needs of the students. Some of these facilities include:

  • Out of School Hours Care (WOOSHC)
  • Swimming pool
  • Oval
  • Activity / Drama Hall with stage facilities
  • Gymnasium
  • Play room


2024 staff members are:

  • Principal – Megan Higgins
  • Deputy Principal – Leanne Jones
  • School Wellbeing Coordinator – Sarah Schiller
  • Year 6 – Natasha Wall/Sarah Schiller
  • Year 5/6 – Sharna Linke
  • Year 5 – Hannah Marks/Alison Pietsch
  • Year 4 – Nina Rayner
  • Year 2/3 – Connie Valentine
  • Year 3/4 – Samantha Schubert
  • Year 1/2 – Hayley Sincock
  • Year Rec/1 – Lorraine Fechner
  • Year Reception – Sarah Kipling

Specialist Teachers

  • Jeany Winter – Science R-6, YET, PE
  • Chris Mibus – The Arts
  • Rachel Lawson – Spanish
  • Julia Golding – Aboriginal Education Teacher and Early Years Support

Finance Officers – Di Warner / Penny Miller

School Support Officers – Cheryl Seabrook, Rachel Kratopoulos, Michelle Frost, Shane McKinnon, Tina Frost, Maria Trebble, Jenna Van Haasteren, Renee Heaslip and Tamara Belsham

Groundsperson – Clive Matthews